top of page

Don't Charge Per Hour

Hello, my fellow freelancers and visitors from the far corners of the Internet!

For a while, I've been trying to articulate why it is I'm not a fan of hourly work when it comes to freelancing.

I prefer to maximize my productivity by being paid per-project. Here's why.

1. Slow, steady and bored.

Lindsay Van Thoen writes for Freelancers Union and makes a great point when it comes to hourly freelance work. Van Thoen says if you charge per hour, "you're incentivized to work at a ho-hum pace." I couldn't agree more; I don't have the patience to work on something for four hours that I can complete in half the time.I tend to be hired for projects I can finish quickly and have a reputation for delivering work ahead of deadline (that's not always the case, but more often than not, I beat the buzzer). The faster I can complete a project, the more time I can devote to hunting for more work and to other projects in the queue.

(Read more here)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page