top of page

Take a look, it's in a book!

I won't write a second post in a single week very often, but I think something like this warrants it.

There's a Kickstarter campaign that's really taken off, and I couldn't be more excited about it. LeVar Burton has launched a campaign to bring back "Reading Rainbow" as an online series.

For those of you not familiar, "Reading Rainbow" was a TV series on American public television series that ran from 1983 to 2006, picking up multiple Emmys and a Peabody award. It was a show for kids exploring the wonderful world of reading. I really enjoyed the show as a kid, and maybe it's because I'm looking through nostalgia goggles that are strapped on a bit too tight, but I couldn't be more excited for this undertaking.

According to the campaign, 1 in 4 kids will grow up illiterate in the States, which contributes to a high high-school dropout rate, and that really limits opportunities for the generation to come. I won't pretend I know the long-term consequences beyond that, but needless to say, it could be quite problematic.

(Read more here)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page