top of page

There's no such thing as a free freelancer

Greetings from the Great White North, fellow writers, freelancers and would-be authors!

Today, we discuss one of my rookie mistakes: working for free.

The best way to illustrate a lesson, I find, is telling a story. So gather 'round the old rocking chair, ladies and gentlemen. It's story time.

A number of months ago, I started freelancing. I was looking for work through a certain unnamed website, and, after submitted so many proposals, I finally got a response!

Lo and behold, an oasis in the desert! My big break! Ok, maybe not big as it was a small transcribing job, but it was a break, by cracky - I called victory!

The client sent me a message to confirm the terms of the project. My client wanted me to write a "test" transcription just to make sure it met his standards.

Or, so I was lead to believe.

(Read more here)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page